ITA Regional and National Award Winners

The ITA announced their annual award winners this past month during the championships. Listed below are all players and coaches with Texas ties. An * designates the person also won the national award.


Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year,
Matt Knoll, Baylor University

ITA Assistant Coach of the Year,
Bob McKinley, Texas A&M University
*Kyle Spencer, Baylor University

TA/Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership & Sportsmanship
Southeast, Jamie Hunt, University of Georgia
South Central, Christoph Muller, Rice University

Farnsworth/ITA Senior Player of the Year,
Conor Pollock, Texas A&M University

ITA Rookie Player of the Year,
Raony Carvalho, Texas Tech University

ITA Player to Watch,
Northeast, Alexei Chijoff-Evans, Harvard
South Central, Austin Krajicek, Texas A&M University

ITA/John Van Nostrand Memorial Award (regional nominees)
*Conor Pollock, Texas A&M University


ITA Assistant Coach of the Year,
Colin Foster, TCU

ITA/Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership & Sportsmanship
Macall Harkins, TCU

ITA/Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship
Sarah Lancaster, Texas

ITA Rookie Player of the Year,
Marta Lesniak, SMU

ITA Player to Watch,
Jelena Stanivuk, Baylor University


Coach of the Year (Women)
Russell Sterns, St. Edward’s University

Asst Coach of Yr (Women)
John Walker, Abilene Christian University

Arthur Ashe (Women)
Chrissie Cooper, Tarleton State University

Senior Player (Women)
Irene Squillaci, Abilene Christian University

Rookie Player (Women)
Audrey Tompkins, St. Edwards University

Asst Coach of Yr (Men)
Simon Boyce, St. Edward’s University

Arthur Ashe (Men)
Hutton Jones Jr., Abilene Christian University

Rookie Player (Men)
Eldad Campbell, Abilene Christian University


Asst Coach of Yr
Russel McMindes, Trinity University

Arthur Ashe
*Dustin Phillips, Univ. of Tyler-Texas

Player to Watch
Robert Sajovich, University of Texas-Tyler

Rookie Player
Max Frey, Trinity University


Player to Watch
Katy Poettcker, Trinity University

Rookie Player
Katie Griffith, Trinity University


Coach of the Year
*John Peterson, Tyler Junior College

Asst Coach of Yr
John King, Temple College

Player of the Year
*Moacir Santos, Laredo Community College

Rookie Player
*Cledson Carvalho, Laredo Community College


Arthur Ashe
Iris Rendon, Tyler Junior College

Player to Watch
Ashlea Baker, Temple College

Rookie Player
Nadia Lee, Lee College

Award descriptions:
The ITA/Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship goes to a player who has exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements.

The ITA Player to Watch Award goes to a player who has an outstanding season and is expected to perform at a high level the rest of his or her career. This award’s criteria also includes a player’s sportsmanship and character.

The Rafael Osuna Award goes to a men’s player who displays sportsmanship, character, excellent academics, and has had outstanding tennis accomplishments.

The John Van Nostrand Memorial Award is a stipend that goes to an outstanding senior men’s player who plans to pursue a professional career after college.

The Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship goes to a women’s player who displays inspiring dedication and commitment to her team, which has enhanced her team’s performance and exemplified the spirit of college tennis.

Osuna and Van Nostrand Award nominees are not regional award winners, but rather nominees put forth by their respective regional committees for the national award consideration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *